To become a Life and/or Health Agent in Mississippi, you will need to do the following:
When you satisfy the requirements for your course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Pre-licensing education is valid for one year from the date of completion; you will need to take and pass your state exam within this timeframe.
Before scheduling your exam, we recommend that you read the Candidate Handbook for important details. Licensing exams are provided by Pearson Vue costs $52 for Life exams, Accident & Health or Sickness exams, and Life, Accident & Health or Sickness exams.
To schedule by phone, call (888) 293-4222.
When scheduling your exam, be sure to use your legal name and personal information as it appears on your government issued ID.
Individuals must complete a pre-licensing course of study for the lines of authority desired before taking any examination. Applicants are required to pass a final exam of the pre-licensing course with a 70% or higher to receive a certificate of completion and be eligible to take the state exam. The pre-licensing course must consist of 20 classroom hours per line of authority, or equivalent individual instruction, on the general principles of insurance for that line of authority. The lines of authority requiring a pre-licensing course are as follows:
Prelicensing education courses are taken in a classroom setting or online during which a minimum of five hours must be dedicated to the discussion of Alabama Law. Instructors must be knowledgeable of the insurance industry and all aspects of the insurance law.
Once the prelicensing course is completed and a certificate is awarded, the insurance licensing examination can be taken within one year from the date of the certificate.
When scheduling your exam, be sure to use your legal name and personal information as it appears on your government issued ID. The state exam must be taken within six months of completing your pre-licensing course, and the cost for the exam is $60 for Life exams, Accident & Health or Sickness exams, and Life, Health & Accident exams. You can make an exam reservation through the following methods:
Candidate must present two (2) forms of current signature identification. The name on the identification must exactly match the name on the exam registration. The primary identification must be government issued, photo ID with a signature and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English.
Licenses will be emailed to the business email on record or you may print your license online at www.sircon.com/mississippi.
American Online Insurance School provides information as a courtesy to individuals who getting licensed and/or are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither American Online Insurance School nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
Phone: (601) 359-3582
Mississippi Insurance Department
1001 Woolfolk State Office Building 501 North West Street Jackson, MS 39201
You will need 2 forms of identification to take the state exam, one of which must be a valid photo ID, but it does not have to be a driver license. Select your state in the dropdown below to see your state’s testing requirements.
Yes, you have to be a resident of your state to be issued an insurance license.