To become a licensed insurance agent you’ll need to:
We have all the tools you need to get through your online pre-licensing course and pass your state exam the first time. When you satisfy the requirements for your course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Pre-licensing education is valid for one year from the date of completion; you will need to take and pass your state exam within this timeframe.
You can schedule your state exam with Pearson Vue at pearsonvue.com or by calling 888-274-2020. You don’t have to wait until you’ve completed the course to schedule your exam - you can contact Pearson Vue and schedule the test whenever you want.
Schedule your fingerprint appointment with IdentiGo. Generally, everyone has to be fingerprinted, even if you are/were a teacher, nurse, have a concealed carry permit, etc. If you would like to see if you can skip this step, you can contact the Florida Department of Financial Services at 850-413-3134.
The license application can be completed through the Florida Department of Financial Services. Once at the page, click create account at the right, and then choose individual in the dropdown menu. Please note that this step cannot be done until after you have completed your pre-licensing course.
Individuals must complete a pre-licensing course of study for the lines of authority desired before taking any examination. Applicants are required to pass a final exam of the pre-licensing course with a 70% or higher to receive a certificate of completion and be eligible to receive an insurance license. The pre-licensing course must consist of 40 classroom hours, or equivalent individual instruction, for the Life & Annuity (2-14) license or the Health (2-40) license, and 60 hours of instruction for the combined Health, Life & annuity (2-15) license.
Pre-licensing education courses are taken in a classroom setting, and instructors must be knowledgeable of the insurance industry and all aspects of the insurance law.
Once the pre-licensing course is completed and a certificate is awarded, the insurance licensing examination can be taken within one year from the date of the certificate.
Licensing exams are provided by Pearson Vue. An exam fee of $44 must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card or debit card. You can make an exam reservation through the following methods:
Bring a current form of identification (a valid Driver’s License, non-driver ID, passport, military ID, or employee ID card).
American Online Insurance School provides information as a courtesy to individuals who getting licensed and/or are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither American Online Insurance School nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
Phone: (850) 413-3134
Florida Department of Financial Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399
You will need a valid photo ID to get fingerprinted and take the state exam, but it does not have to be a driver license. Select your state in the dropdown below to see your state’s testing requirements.
Yes, you have to be a resident of your state to be issued an insurance license.