Wisconsin Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number:  102883

The Basics

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Annuity Training/ Best Interest

Wisconsin Best Interest Law (2021 Wis. Act 260) requires producers to complete updated annuity training which includes the best interest standard. Producers that completed an approved annuities training course prior to October 1, 2022, must complete either a one-time, 4-hour annuity training best interest course or a one-time, 1-hour refresher annuity training-best interest course within six months of the effective date of the Act. The deadline line to complete this updated training is April 1, 2023. Producers obtaining a new life license after October 1, 2022 must complete a one-time, 4-hour Annuity Training-Best Interest training course before selling annuities.

Long-Term Care

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Wisconsin, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. This course can be completed for any state, but if taken for Wisconsin, there is no need to take the Wisconsin Medicaid Training course.

  • Wisconsin Medicaid Training: For non-residents who have completed the initial LTC Partnership Training course in another state, they must take a 2-hour Medicaid Training course specific to Wisconsin.

  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, LTC producers must complete 4-hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training requirement.*Nonresidents who complete the ongoing training in another state must still complete a 1-hour Wisconsin Medicaid Training course. This course satisfies this requirement.

Life Settlement Brokers

Initial 8-Hour Life Settlement Broker Training: Individuals applying for a Life Settlement Broker license must complete an initial training course of not less than 8 hours prior to applying for the license.

Satisfaction of the training requirements in another state that are substantially similar to the requirements of Wisconsin will be deemed to satisfy Wisconsin’s requirement. To be considered substantial the course would have to be approved for at least the minimum number of credit hours and include the topics outlined in Wisconsin statute.

On going 4-Hour Life Settlement Broker Training: Individual Life Settlement Brokers must complete 2 hours of ongoing training every year for a total of 4 hours every 24 months.

Nonresident CE Requirements

Nonresident agents are exempt from the Wisconsin CE requirement if they are in good standing with their state, EXCEPT for the Annuity and LTCP training.

License Term

The license term is every 2 years ending on the last day of the licensee’s birth month.

CE Subject Requirements

Category Restrictions

CE can be in whichever line of authority a licensee chooses.

Course Presentation


Final Exam Requirements

Monitor Proctor Requirements

Exams are to be monitored by a disinterested third party. Proctors must not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.

Exam Rules

Exams are closed book. A 70% or greater is need to pass and student will have unlimited retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

Excess CE hours cannot be carried over for credit.

Course Repetition Rules

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a 2 year license term.

Certificate of Completion

AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Wisconsin. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file for 5 years.

License Renewal Process

Renewal notices are mailed by the Wisconsin Department of Insurance 60 days prior to fees being due. To continue conducting insurance business in the state of Wisconsin, you must pay the biennial regulation fee. All notices are sent by first class mail to the residence address on file with our office and are now in a postcard format. The law does not require proof of delivery.

Go here to renew your license online: http://www.sircon.com/products/agents/ index.html.

Agents who fail to have the required CE credit hours posted on or before the license expiration date will have their insurance license(s) revoked. Providers have 10 days to report your CE completions, so please plan accordingly to avoid a lapse in licensure.

CE Exemptions

  • Wisconsin resident agents who hold an exclusive limited line insurance license for credit, legal expense, travel, and title insurance are not required to take CE courses.

  • Nonresidents are not required to supply the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance with evidence of completing continuing education in their home states.

Helpful Links:
State Based Systems (SBS) Contact Info

Phone: 816-783-8990

Email: help@naic.org

Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

Phone: 608-266-8699

Email: ociagentlicensing@wisconsin.gov

Mailing Address:

Wisconsin Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI 53703-3474

We’ve got you covered

How often does AOIS report Wisconsin Insurance CE course completions?

We report completed courses every business day.

No need to worry about compliance

Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.