Pennsylvania Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number:  102708

The Basics

Resident Requirements

All licensees need to complete a minimum of 24 CE hours every two years.


This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.

Non Resident Requirements

Non-residents, who comply with CE requirements of his/her resident state, are exempt from the Pennsylvania CE requirements. Non-residents selling LTC must meet the Pennsylvania training requirement.

Annuity Training (New)

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products. Effective June 20, 2022, producers must complete a one-time 4 hour training course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Pennsylvania law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Long-Term Care

Producers wishing to sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC or LTC Partnership policies must complete an 8-hour LTC training program prior to selling and a 4-hour LTC course biennially thereafter.

An insurance producer that sells, solicits or negotiates long-term care partnership policies shall complete, as part of the 8-hour requirement, a 1-hour course related to the Medical Assistance Program (Medicaid) prior to engaging in any marketing activity of partnership policies.

Course Repetition

Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.

Category Restrictions

Any course approved for CE in Pennsylvania may be taken for credit.

Proctor/Monitor Requirements – None

FROM: Bureau of Licensing & Enforcement

DATE: May 10, 2022

RE: Notice to Continuing Education Providers Regarding the Elimination of the Proctor Requirement

In light of the COVID-19 spread in this Commonwealth, the Pennsylvania Insurance Department (“Department”), on March 16, 2020, temporarily suspended all in person classroom education approved by the Department. The Department encouraged licensees to utilize available approved online continuing education (CE) courses to remain compliant with producer licensing requirements. The Department required these online exams at the completion of a CE course to be monitored by a proctor, a disinterested third party. The proctor was then required to certify that the licensee completed the exam without assistance for the licensee to receive CE credit for the course.

This proctor requirement defeated some of the benefits associated with taking online CE courses. With the continued COVID-19 pandemic and broader shifts to remote working environments, the Department expects the elimination of the proctor requirement will increase CE compliance and provide more convenient access for licensees to complete CE credits.

Therefore, until further notice, the Commissioner waives the requirement that a proctor must monitor an online exam for continuing education courses for licensees. The Department continues to encourage providers approved for classroom training to offer courses via internet-based webinar format. Be advised that the elimination of this requirement does not prohibit providers from continuing to use proctors if they so choose.

With the availability of CE courses online and the elimination of online exams to be monitored by a proctor, licensees of the Department will have more convenient options and access to ensuring their compliance with the continuing education requirements pursuant to 40 P.S. § 310.8(b).

Period Requirements

Renewal periods for all agents shall be the last day of their birth month every two years.

Carryover Requirements

A maximum of 24 hours may be carried over to the next immediate licensing period.

State Reporting Fees

The Pennsylvania Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be included during checkout when purchasing a course or package.


Producers who were licensed for a particular line of authority before 1/1/1971 and have been continuously licensed for that line of authority and have NOT added any additional lines after the original licensing are exempt from CE requirement.

Acceptable Training Methods

  • Correspondence (Print)
  • Classroom
  • Online (Internet Delivery)

License Renewal Process

  • Producers can renew their license online here.
  • At this time, lapsed licenses cannot be renewed online. For further information on the renewal process for lapsed licenses, click here.


Helpful Links:
Sircon Contact Info



Pennsylvania Insurance Department

Mailing Address:

Pennsylvania Insurance Department

1326 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, PA 17120

We’ve got you covered

How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?

We report completed courses every business day.

No need to worry about compliance

Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.