Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 10015063
NOTE: Effective September 1, 2023, licensees holding a life insurance line of authority wanting to sell annuities must complete 4-hour annuity training course (See Annuity Training Requirement and CE Subject Requirements below).
NOTE: Effective September 1, 2023, the one-hour earthquake continuing education requirement will no longer be applicable for licensees holding a property line of authority. See CE Subject Requirements section below for further details.
Effective September 1, 2023, producers with a life insurance line of authority who desire to start selling annuities must complete a 4-hour annuity training course within 6 months after September 1, 2023 (no later than February 29, 2024). If this requirement is not met by the deadline, the producer must stop selling annuities until the training is completed. *Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Oklahoma’s law will be deemed compliant for Oklahoma’s requirement.
Please see CE Subject Requirements below for more details.
Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period.
Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
24 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics and 2 hours in legislative updates, are required every 2-year license term. (See license term below).
4 CE hours, including 3 hours in viaticals and 1 hour in ethics, are required every 2-year license term.
A life insurance producer who is operating as a viatical settlement broker is not subject to this continuing education requirement; see “Life and Health Producers” section above for CE requirements.
13 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics and 2 hours in legislative updates, are required every 2-year license term. (See license term below).
A roster fee of $1 per credit hour is required to process course completion hours in Oklahoma and will be added ot the order total upon checkout.
If the producer has not taken a NAIC LTC and/or annuity training course in another state, the nonresident producer selling LTC and/or annuities must comply with the Oklahoma training requirements:
Nonresident adjusters are required to comply with Oklahoma’s CE requirement by:
being licensed and in good standing as a nonresident adjuster in Oklahoma and completing Oklahoma’s continuing education requirement by an approved provider. (See “Adjusters” section above.); or
being licensed and in good standing as a resident adjuster in a state that has a continuing education requirement for its resident adjusters; or
being licensed and in good standing as a nonresident adjuster in a state or designated “Home State” that has a continuing education requirement for its nonresident adjusters.
Please Note: Simply being licensed and in good standing in another state does not exempt a nonresident adjuster licensed in Oklahoma from this state’s CE requirement if that other state does not have a continuing education requirement for adjusters.
Nonresident licensees can renew their licenses online here.
The license term is every 2 years ending on the last day of the licensees birth month
There are no category restrictions, except for adjusters must take courses approved for adjusters.
Annuity Best Interest rule
Effective September 1, 2023, Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority, who were not engaged in the sale of annuities prior to September 1, 2023, and who desire to start selling annuities must complete an approved four (4) hour annuity training course within six (6) months after September 1, 2023 (no later than February 29, 2024). A Producer who fails to complete the training by this deadline must immediately cease selling annuities until the training is completed. Producers who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after September 1, 2023, shall not engage in any annuity sales until they successfully complete an approved four (4) hour annuity training course.
Producers who have completed the current Department approved “Annuity” training course prior to November 1, 2023, must complete one of the following options within six (6) months after November 1, 2023 (no later than April 30, 2024):
Earthquake CE requirement change for property line of authority
Effective September 1, 2023, the one-hour earthquake continuing education requirement will no longer be applicable for licensees holding a property line of authority. The Earthquake course group will remain intact, with no impact on the currently active courses. The course group will continue to apply towards general continuing education credit for all license types.
For license renewals processed prior to September 1, 2023, completion of the one-hour earthquake coverage requirement will remain mandatory. For license renewals processed after September 1, 2023, continuing education on earthquake coverage will not be required.
Courses that contain information about earthquake coverage will continue to be reviewed under the Earthquake course group indefinitely.
Licensees can take courses through self-study, online or paper.
Final Exam Requirements:
Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of at least 70 percent prior to taking aclosed-book final exam.
Exam proctor requirements:
Final exams do not have to be monitored.
Self-study final exams are closed-book. Producers may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
CE Carryover Allowance
A maximum of 6 hours may be carried over to the next 2-year license term. Excess hours may also be applied to bring a lapsed license into compliance. Hours that are carried over will be applied as general credit.
Course Repetition Rules
Courses may not be taken for credit more than once within 2-years from the original completion date.
CE Completion Reporting
Same-Day Reporting – AOIS reports course completions electronically every business day.
*Agents must have their CE credit hours posted prior to their expiration date and prior to applying to renew their insurance license(s). Providers have 10 days to report your CE completions, so please plan accordingly to avoid a lapse in licensure.
Certificate of Completion
AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Oklahoma. Certificates of completion are available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees are required to maintain a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 4 years.
License Renewal Process
Resident and nonresident licensees can renew their licenses here.
The following are exempt from CE requirements:
Limited insurance representatives
Nonresident producers whose home state is reciprocal with Oklahoma and whose home state’s CE requirements are the same or greater than Oklahoma’s
Nonresident adjusters whose license is in good standing and who have completed the continuing education requirements for another state. Please see “Nonresident CE Requirements” above.
A life insurance producer who is also operating as a viatical settlement broker is not subject to the viatical settlement broker continuing education requirements.
Oklahoma Insurance Department
Phone:405-521-2828 or 800-522-0071
Oklahoma Insurance Department
P.O. Box 53408
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408
How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?
We report completed courses every business day.
Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.