North Dakota Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number:  2194

The Basics

Required Continuing Education Hours

Life and Annuity, Accident and Health Producers

Property and Casualty Producers and Crop Hail Producers must complete 24 CE hours, including 3 hours in ethics, are required every 2-year license term.

Flood Insurance

Producers who write flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training class on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Roster Fees

A roster fee per credit hour ordered (a state fee) is required to process course completion hours in North Dakota and will be added to the order total upon checkout.

Nonresident CE Requirements

If the producer has not taken a NAIC LTC training course in another state, the nonresident producer selling LTC must comply with the North Dakota LTC training requirements:

Annuity Best Interest Training Hours: 4

  • Effective January 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
    • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 6/30/2022 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
    • Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
    Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to North Dakota law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Long-Term Care

Long-Term Care (LTC)
  • Initial 8-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in North Dakota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC Partnership training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period.

License Term

The license expiration date is the last day of the producer’s birth month every 2 years. For more information, see detail below.

Licensees may track credits and verify expiration date at SBS Connect. Click here to access. There is no fee, but you must register to use this service.

CE Subject Requirements

Category Restrictions

There are no category restrictions in North Dakota. Any course approved for CE in North Dakota may be taken for credit.

Exam Proctor Requirements

Self-study final exams are open book and do not require a proctor.

Exam Rules

Self-study final exams are open book. Producers may refer to the course material as often as needed while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

A maximum of 12 hours earned only in the second half of a 2-year license term may be carried over to the next reporting period. Ethics hours may not be carried forward and must be completed within each 2-year license term.

Course Repetition Rules

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a producer’s 2-year licensing term.

Certificate of Completion

AOIS provides online, printable certificates in North Dakota. Certificates of completion are available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. Because AOIS reports CE credits directly to SBS, producers are only required to maintain a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for verification.

License Renewal Process

Residents must be CE compliant before submitting their renewal. Resident and nonresident licensees can renew their license online here.

CE Exemptions

The following are exempt from North Dakota CE requirements:

  • Individuals licensed exclusively for the sale of legal expense insurance, title insurance, travel baggage insurance, surety bonds, bail bonds, and credit life/accident & health insurance

  • Individuals who are at least 62 years old and whose combined total continuous years of license plus their age equals 85 or more

  • Newly licensed individuals for the calendar year in which they are first licensed; but beginning January 1 of the year following licensing, CE requirements apply

  • Nonresident producers who meet their home state CE requirements


Helpful Links:
State Based Systems (SBS) Contact Info



North Dakota Insurance Department

Phone: (701) 328-3548 ext. 1
Fax:(701) 328-4880

Mailing Address:

North Dakota Insurance Department
License Division
State Capitol, Fifth Floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

We’ve got you covered

How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?

We report completed courses every business day.

No need to worry about compliance

Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.