Missouri Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number:  8027155

The Basics

Life and Health Producers

16 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 years. (See License Term below.)

Property and Casualty Producers

16 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 years. (See License Term below.)

Flood Insurance

Producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) requirement.

Multiple Licenses:

16 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term. (See Category Restrictions below.)

Roster Fees

A state required roster fee of $1.00 per credit hour ordered is required to process course completion hours in Missouri and will be added to the order total upon checkout.

Annuity Training Hours: 4

Frequency: Producers must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Missouri.

Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Missouri’s law will be compliant with the requirement.

Long-Term Care

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: A producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate a qualified LTC Partnership Plan unless he or she is licensed for both life and health and has completed an initial 8-hour training course pre-approved by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Regulation (DIFP).
  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course, pre-approved by the Missouri DIFP, during each 2-year license term, thereafter.

License Term

Licenses renew 2 years from the license issuance date and every 2 years thereafter.

CE Subject Requirements

Category restrictions:
Producers must take courses approved for the line of insurance they are licensed to sell. Producers licensed for multiple lines of authority are not required to divide the educational hours evenly between the lines of authority in which qualified.

Course presentation:
Producers can take online or paper-based self-study.

Study requirements:
Producers should read the course material prior to taking a closed-book, proctored final exam.

Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements:
Self-study exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party of at least 18 years of age, who has no corporate employment, personal relationship, or other interest in the student’s performance on the exam.

Exam rules:
The final exam is closed book and must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

All excess hours earned during a 2-year license term may be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

Course Repetition Rules

A particular course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

Certificate of Completion

AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Missouri. The producer must certificates of completion in their files for 4 years.

CE Completion Reporting

Next-Day Reporting – AOIS reports course completions every business day.

License Renewal Process

Licensees may renew their license online here.

For producers who fail to have the required CE credit hours posted and renewal paperwork submitted to the state on or before the license expiration date, the license(s) will be terminated and fines incurred.

CE Exemptions

Individuals are exempt from continuing education if one of the following is true:

  • The producer has suffered a serious physical injury or illness.

  • The producer is on active duty in the Armed Forces for an extended time.

  • The producer sells only crop insurance.

  • The producer sells only pre-arranged funeral plan insurance.

  • The producer is at least 70 years old.

  • The producer’s license is restricted to Credit

Helpful Links:
State Based Systems (SBS) Contact Info



State Based Systems (SBS) Contact Info

Missouri Department of Insurance,

Phone: 573-751-3518
Fax: 573-526-3416
Email: licensing@insurance.mo.gov

Mailing Address:

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Regulation
Licensing Section
PO Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690

We’ve got you covered

How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?

We report completed courses every business day.

No need to worry about compliance

Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.