Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 852
All licensees are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2-year license term, including 3 hours of ethics.
Please see below for important details.
Annuity Best Interest Training
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.
Effective January 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Maine law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.
Long-Term Care (LTC)
Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Maine, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.
Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, LTC producers must complete4 hours of state-approved LTC training every renewal cycle.
Maine producers who also sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
For non-resident licensees, in order to use this service, you must hold an active license in your resident state. Therefore, in some instances, such as a non-resident Maine adjuster whose home state does not require adjuster licensing, online renewal is not available. In these cases, renewals must be processed by returning the renewal invoice and payment to the Bureau.
To renew licenses online, CLICK HERE.
The license term is every 2 years based on the last day of the producer’s birth month. Producers born in even years renew in EVEN years. Producers born in odd years renew in ODD years.
Courses can be taken in any license type for CE credit. Of the 24-hour CE requirement, 3 hours must be in ethics.
There are no monitoring requirements. Exams are open book, and students may refer to course materials to complete the exam. 70% is passing. Students have unlimited retakes.
CE completed in excess of the requirement is not allowed to be carried forward to the next license cycle.
CE courses may not be taken more than once within a license term.
Credit taken to remedy a deficiency in a prior licensing period does not count toward the CE requirement for the current period.
AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Maine. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file for 5 years.
This is an online renewal service through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). NIPR collects a processing fee of $5.00 in addition to the renewal fee charged by the Bureau.
Please remember that licenses cannot be renewed more than 60 days prior to the renewal date. A notice will be mailed notifying licensees of the renewal period.
To renew licenses online, CLICK HERE.
The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
Producers who receive their licenses less than one year before their first compliance date are exempt from CE requirements for their first license term.
Nonresident producers who meet their home states’ CE requirements are exempt from Maine CE requirements if that home state has a reciprocal arrangement with Maine.
Phone: 207-624-8475 or 800-300-5000
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Bureau of Insurance
#34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
How often does AOIS report Maine Insurance CE course completions?
We report completed courses every business day.
Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.