Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: S16864
All license types are required to complete 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2-year license term. See below for important information.
Annuity Best Interest Training
Frequency: One-time training must be complete before selling annuity products..
Effective January 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
Non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Kentucky law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.
Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)
Initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement: All Kentucky producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC partnership policies must complete 8 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTCP policies. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.
Ongoing 4-hour LTCP training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, LTCP producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training each 2-year license term thereafter. AOIS offers a course that satisfies this requirement. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.
All Kentucky property producers authorized to sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
Adjusters and Public Adjusters may complete courses from the Property and Casualty line.
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Kentucky, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Kentucky law will be deemed compliant for the Kentucky requirement.
The license term is every 2 years bases on the last day of the producer?s birth month in odd- or even-numbered years. Producers born in an even-numbered year are required to complete their CE in even-numbered years. Producers born in an odd-numbered year are required to complete their CE in odd-numbered years.
Adjusters: First CE due date begins July 31, 2012 for all adjusters who have held a license for at least one year. The license term is every 2 years bases on the last day of the producer?s birth month in odd- or even-numbered years. For the state bulletin regarding this information, click here.
Producers must complete 3 hours in approved ethics courses. At least 6 of the 24 required CE hours must be completed in a line of authority held by the licensee, EXCEPT adjusters who may take all courses in property and casualty. Excess ethics hours will go towards the optional hour requirement only.
Producers may complete the Kentucky CE requirements through self-study. The self-study course and exam can be either paper or online.
Self-study final exams DO NOT require a monitor.
Self-study final exams are open book. Producers may refer to the course material as often as needed. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
A maximum of 12 excess CE hours may be carried forward to the next 2-year license term. Excess hours in ethics will carry forward as general credit.
A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.
AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Kentucky. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. The producer must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 3 years.
Producers can renew their licenses online here.
The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
Producers who hold limited lines of authority under agent licenses
Producers who have not been licensed for a full year by the CE compliance date
Producers who hold nonresident licenses and have met the CE requirements of their home states
Producers who hold a license for the sole purpose of receiving renewals or deferred commissions and providing the office with a support affidavit
Nonresident adjusters who are licensed and in good standing in their resident state or designated home state. If the license terminates in their resident or designated home state their KY nonresident license will terminate and must be immediately surrendered.
How often does AOIS report Kentucky Insurance CE course completions?
We report completed courses every business day.
Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.