Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 102407
Connecticut agents are required to complete 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics/law/regulation, are required every 2 year license term, and 6 of the total hours required must pertain directly to the line of authority the agent holds. Details about license terms and other CE requirements are below.
Effective March 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
Before a producer can market, discuss or sell any Partnership-approved long-term care insurance policy in Connecticut, he or she must have met certain requirements under the state’s Partnership for Long-Term Care Certification Training Program. These requirements are:
The producer must be licensed as an Accident and Health producer in Connecticut and hold a valid license.
The Connecticut Partnership Certification Training Program consists of two course components:
All property and casualty producers are required to complete a one-time 3-hour flood training course.
24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics/law/regulation, are required every 2 years. 6 of the total hours required must pertain directly to the line of authority.
Connecticut has course category restrictions. See CE Subject Requirements below. Producers must also complete the following special training:
All personal lines producers are required to complete a one-time 3-hour flood training course.
Resident individuals who hold a Life Settlement Broker license must complete 15 hours of CE every 2 years by March 31st. Life Settlement Broker licenses renew March 31st of each year. Resident individuals who hold a Life Producer license are exempt from the 15-hour life settlement continuing education requirement.
A roster fee of $3.75 per course ordered is required to process course completion hours in Connecticut and will be added to the order total upon checkout.
All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority and who desire to sell annuities must complete the training requirement within 6 months of the effective date. Individuals licensed on or after February 18, 2012 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.
Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Connecticut’s law will be deemed compliant for Connecticut’s requirement.
The license term is every 2 years based on the producer’s date of birth. If this is your first renewal, your license expires two years from your birth date that preceded your license effective date, and on your birthdate every two years thereafter.
Category restrictions: 6 CE hours must be in the license type held and a minimum of 3 CE hours must be in a course approved for ethics, law, or regulation. Remaining credits may be of any combination or type.
Course presentation: Self-study
Study requirements: Students should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.
Exam proctor requirements: Exams are to be monitored by proctors who are a disinterested third party. The proctor may not serve for examinations of: family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or anyone in whom the proctor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.
Exam rules: Exams are closed book. Producers may not look at course material while taking the exam. A grade of 70 percent or higher is required to pass.
Course hours taken above the requirement cannot be carried over to the next license term.
Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a 2 year license term.
American Online Insurance School provides online, printable certificates of completion in Connecticut. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file in the event a discrepancy occurs.
American Online Insurance School reports course completions to Sircon every business day.
Resident licensees must renew their license online at www.nipr.com.
The Online Renewal Notification is mailed to the resident address on file with the Department at least 60 days prior to license expiration/birth date. Licensees are eligible to renew 60 days prior to license expiration date. Please click here for more information.
The following producers are exempt from the CE requirements:
Producers licensed only for credit or travel insurance do not have a CE requirement
Non-residents do not have a CE requirement (must be compliant in their resident home state to renew their CT license)
Those serving in US military on active duty outside Connecticut during substantial part of compliance period
Connecticut Department of Insurance
153 Market St.
Hartford, CT 06103
How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?
We report completed courses every business day.
Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.