Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 201669
Colorado agents are required to complete 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below). Below are specific requirements.
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Colorado producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.
Initial 16-hour training requirement: Before selling LTC policies in Colorado producers must complete 16 hours of state approved LTC training. Part 1 of the 16 hours shall consist of 8 hours on general LTC, which can be taken online self study or in a classroom, and Part 2 shall consist of 8 hours specific to LTC partnership, which must be taken in a classroom.
Ongoing 5-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 16-hour training, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete no less than 5 hours of ongoing training in a classroom setting every 2 calendar years after the initial completion.
All Colorado producers licensed to sell property or personal lines insurance must complete three (3) hours of continuing education on homeowner’s (HO) insurance coverage each license term. Please refer to our Homeowners course which satisfies this requirement.
Producers planning to sell the following products have special training or education requirements as described below:
All Colorado resident property and casualty or personal lines producers who sell flood insurance are required to complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training.
All Colorado resident producers engaged in the sale, consultation, or adjustment of claims-made policies must complete a one-time 2-hour state approved course on claims-made policies.
Nonresident insurance producers must be licensed and in good standing in their home state, must satisfy their home state CE requirements, and must pay a biennial continuation fee to the Colorado Division of Insurance. Producers planning to sell the following products have special training or education requirements as described below:
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Colorado producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. *Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Colorado’s law will be deemed compliant for Colorado’s requirement.
The satisfaction of these training requirements in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in this state.
The license term is every 2 years based on the producer’s date of birth. Even birth years renew every even year. Odd birth years renew every odd year.
Category restrictions: Of the 24-hour CE requirement, 3 hours must be in the subject of ethics and 18 hours must be on topics associated with the license type held. The remaining 3 hours are “miscellaneous” and can be taken in any category.
Course presentation: Self-study online
Study requirements: Student should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.
Exam proctor requirements: Exams are closed book and must be proctored by a disinterested third party who is at least 18 years old. Proctors may not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or for anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.
Exam rules: Exams are closed book. A passing score of 70 percent or higher is required. Producers are allowed to retake the exam as many times as needed to pass; the exam questions will be different each time.
Producers may carry over up to 12 credit hours into a new license cycle if the courses were taken in the final 120 days of their previous license cycle. Ethics hours carried forward will be counted as general.
A producer who successfully completes an approved course may not repeat the course within 2 calendar years of its original completion date.
American Online Insurance School provides online, printable certificates of completion in Colorado. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. Producers must keep a copy of each certificate of completion for 5 years.
American Online Insurance School reports course completions to Sircon every business day.
Producers must renew their license on the Sircon Web site on or before their license renewal date.
The following exemptions apply to these CE requirements:
First-time producers have until their second continuation cycle to comply.
Producers licensed to write only one or more of the following are exempt:
Travel ticket selling
Limited lines credit
How often does AOIS report Insurance CE course completions?
We report completed courses every business day.
Our online courses are quick and easy, and entirely online. And if you miss something, we catch it. Betty, our Office “Captain,” is known for her attention to detail. If you miss a specific requirement or course, she catches it and makes sure that you have what you need.